What was once ND Legislative District 39 which included McKenzie County all the way to the South Dakota border has changed. The new district for McKenzie County–District 26–covers a much smaller geographical area–McKenzie County minus the Fort Berthold Indian Reservation and parts of Dunn County. Western North Dakota picked up more representation due to the growth documented in the 2020 Census. See more legislative district maps here.